Bamboo Steamer Fillets

I really do enjoy my bamboo steamer rack. I have this deep frying pan that the rack fits into perfectly, but I’ve also used this with my wok. Either way, it’s a great utensil for steaming fish fillets.

  •  Cod fillets
  • Sun dried tomatoes
  • Thin sliced red onion
  • Dry white wine

Put an inch or two of water in your wok. I like to flavor the water with a little white wine. Then place the fillets on your bamboo steamer rack. Place the sundried tomatoes and red onion slices on top of the fillets. Now, place the rack in the water. Cover, and steam for a few minutes.

Steam cooks rather quickly, so don’t be wandering too far… prep a small salad, or nuke some veggies… but don’t stray too far from your rack. There’s nothing more unsettling than an unwatched rack.

The fillets are ready when they are opaque and firm to the touch. I like to serve this with rice and salad. Sometimes I put green olives in the rice, but that’s just me.

One thought on “Bamboo Steamer Fillets

  1. I love the fact that you can cook an entire meal in one of these. I just steamed fish, veggies, and a fruit custard in about 15 minutes. No oils, no butter – it’s great. The steamer contains all the steam (I also bought a deep saute pan that looks like a small wok with a handle and the steamer fits perfectly on it) and doesn’t get hot. My kitchen does not smell like fish either.

Leave a Reply

