Blarney Stones

So, my brother suggested that I spend the time from now till St Paddy’s day sharing my many Irish recipes. I told him it’s a blog about Long Island food, and he reminded me that Ireland is a rather long island. Well, its hard to argue with logic like that so…

Blarney Stones – my version of Guinness battered scallops. Here on Long Island we have access to rather fresh scallops. However, there are times when you get scallops that are ‘less than optimal’. When this occurs, coating the little mollusks in a beer batter is a tasty cover-up.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • ½ lb bay scallops
  • 1 cup self rising flour , split in half
  • ¼ cup self-rising yellow cornmeal
  • 1 can Guinness
  • 5 -6 dashes hot sauce
  • salt and pepper
  • oil (for frying)

Rinse the scallops and drain to a towel.

In a large bowl, mix 1/2 cup of the flour, the corn meal, hot sauce, salt and pepper with enough beer to make a batter a little thinner than a pancake batter.

Put the remaining flour in a plastic bag, add the scallops, close the bag and shake well to coat them evenly.

Remove batches of the scallops, coat well in the batter and fry in the pre- heated oil until golden brown.

Remove the scallops from the oil and drain on paper towels.

These go wonderfully with my tartar sauce…

4 thoughts on “Blarney Stones

  1. Great recipe. I love beer battered seafood but I’ve never thought of using guinness, which I imagine takes takes fried fish and scallops to an even more delicious level. I was wondering if the cornmeal in the batter could be substituted for corn flour?

Leave a Reply

