Curried Crab Salad

I was working in the lab late one night when my eyes beheld an eerie sight
For my monster from his slab began to rise and suddenly to my surprise…

the curried crab salad wasn’t half bad. I did the mash… I did the curry mash… oh well.

I’ve been going through some ideas to get ready for ‘picnic’ month.. another name for May. I swapped out the chicken for crab in a curried salad that I enjoyed last year and I really enjoyed it… I’ll bring a curried crab salad to the next picnic and see what the friends say…

Here’s what you’ll need:

  •  1/2 tbsp. cooking oil
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/3 c. plain yogurt
  • 1 c. chopped crabmeat
  • 1/4 c. raisins
  • 1/4 c. coarsely chopped salted cashew nuts
  • 1/2 tsp. finely minced fresh ginger
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped scallions

Heat oil in a small pan, add curry powder and cook for about 30 seconds. That makes the curry powder taste less raw.

Mix curry powder and oil with yogurt, then combine with remaining ingredients, reserving 2 tablespoons of the scallions to garnish the top of the salad.

Leave a Reply

