#Breakfast

image

Two eggs poached on toasted asiago  bread with tomatoes.  Poaching is a delicate process. First bring a pot of water  to a steady simmer. Try not to use too large a pot for poaching, smaller is better in my experience. Some people add vinegar to that water to help the egg proteins coagulate but i dont. The taste is not for me unless I’m hiding it behind a holindasse sauce. Now, crack a very fresh cold egg into a small bowl or ramekin. Give the pot a stir to create a gentle whirlpool effect and slide the egg into the water. The spinning water will help the egg white wrap itself around the yolk forming a more rounded poached egg.

I’m a big fan of all matters of risky business, salmonella included. So I poach my eggs runny leaving them in the water only two minutes or so. Seriously,  the risk of salmonella is so remote… please.

For this particular breakfast I toasted up a couple of slices or asiago bread. A friend of mine brought it over because she didnt like strong flavor, her loss, my gain. I didn’t butter this either. When topping the toast with the eggs I want the toast to be as absorbant as possible.

To finish this off, I simply washed and sliced up a plumb tomato straight from the garden and gave that a pinch of salt.

Leave a Reply

